In the absence of a UK Flag Act, the Flag Institute acts as the de facto authority on flags flown in the UK and the Crown Dependencies and Overseas Territories.

Accordingly, the Flag Institute has established and maintains the free UK Flag Registry to provide a formal record of current designs.

The flags of the UK's national and supra-national flags are well established by custom and practice. Meanwhile the number of regional, county and other community flags continues to grow, with over fifty entering the UK Flag Registry since 2010.

Community flags may qualify for inclusion as follows: flags of cities, towns, villages and neighbourhoods; flags of historic counties; flags of other traditional regions such as islands or provinces.

Any candidate flag must be democratically adopted, owned and used by the people of the community or area it represents. It must also meet the Flag Institute acceptance criteria.

The flags of modern administrative entities (e.g. local authorities) and flags subject to copyright restrictions are excluded.

If a flag in common use is not listed, or if you wish to create or adopt a new community flag, please contact the Chief Vexillologist, , or the Communities Vexillologist, .

All flags listed in the UK Flag Registry are available to buy from a wide range of UK flagmakers.

Browse the Flag Institute's Register of British Flagmakers or List of Trade Members to find details of flagmakers who support the Flag Institute and its work.

Show: National Flags | Supranational Flags | County and Regional Flags | City and Town Flags



November 2013

Commonwealth of Nations




25th October 1955

Council of Europe

Paul Lévy & Arsène Heitz

United Nations


7th December 1946

United Nations

Donal McLaughlin (Emblem)